Skip to content

Industrial Engineering Honor Society Chapter Wins First Place Outstanding Chapter Award

  • by

Photo Submitted

The U of A chapter of Alpha Pi Mu was awarded first place for the 2021-22 Outstanding Chapter Award. Over the past two semesters, the chapter has been very busy working to support students and the community with its efforts.

Some events the chapter sponsored were a welcome back breakfast for the start of the semester, a global studies event to explain the process of applying for global studies scholarships and a graduate school preparation event to answer questions about the process of applying for graduate school.

Volunteer opportunities included “Packing the Pantry” for the Full Circle Food Pantry at the Volunteer Action Center and volunteering at the Habitat for Humanity ReStore to organize and clean the warehouse.

In addition to these activities, three of the senior members earned national scholarships from Alpha Pi Mu: Shantal Sarmiento received the John L. Imhoff Globalization Scholarship; Natalia Sandhu was awarded the Paul E. Givens Diversity Scholarship; and Coleman Warren received the Alpha Pi Mu Scholarship.

The faculty sponsor, associate professor Kelly Sullivan, commented, “It is a great honor for our chapter to receive this award. I am thankful for an outstanding team of student officers whose dedicated service and leadership are most deserving of this recognition.”

Carrie Pennington, program coordinator in the Department of Industrial Engineering, serves as the staff support person and is key to helping the students succeed with their projects.

“Alpha Pi Mu has done an outstanding job engaging with our student body and local community this past year,” said Ed Pohl, Industrial Engineering Department head. He continued, “I want to thank our faculty and staff advisers, Dr. Sullivan and Ms. Carrie Pennington, for their mentorship and support in helping the Alpha Pi Mu officers and members successfully plan and execute these supportive events with the industrial engineering student body as well as the local community.”

The chapter board for 2021-22 included: Natalia Sandhu, president; Camila Schrader, Vice President; Luke Weiner, treasurer; Valerie Jackson, secretary; Brandon Jerome, social chair; Kaitlyn Frey, media chair; and Austin Wood, historian.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.